2023 Spring Small Fiction Awards Winners!

October 11, 2023

K-Ming Chang’s picks are in! Congratulations to the six winners in our inaugural Spring Small Fiction Awards. This year, our annual Flash Fiction Contest evolved into a contest with three dedicated categories for short form prose: micro, flash and sudden fiction. K-Ming Chang was given a shortlist of ten stories in each of the three categories, from which she picked a winner and a runner-up. Colin Bonini, Jeff Martin and Susanna Cupido each earn a $1,000 cash prize along with online publication, while Aliza Ali Khan, Emily Pegg, and Kerry Anderson each earn a $200 prize along with online publication. Thank you to all of our submitters to this year’s contest, and keep your eyes peeled for news on next year’s submission period!




Sandbox by Colin Bonini


Naz 8 Cinemas by Aliza Ali Khan

Flash Fiction


Whale Song by Jeff Martin


Hatching Moths by Emily Pegg

Sudden Fiction


Immaculate by Susanna Cupido


Nectar by Kerry Anderson


At The Masters Review, our mission is to support emerging writers. We only accept submissions from writers who can benefit from a larger platform: typically, writers without published novels or story collections or with low circulation. We publish fiction and nonfiction online year-round and put out an annual anthology of the ten best emerging writers in the country, judged by an expert in the field. We publish craft essays, interviews and book reviews and hold workshops that connect emerging and established writers.

Follow Us On Social

Masters Review, 2024 © All Rights Reserved