Calendar

Featured Flash Contest: February 1 – March 31, 2024

Featured Flash Contest: February 1 – March 31, 2024

The Featured Flash Contest will honor two grand-prize winners chosen by our editorial staff—one in Flash and one in Sudden—by awarding $1,500 and online publication. Two runners-up will also be honored with a $300 prize and online publication. All longlisted authors will receive an archived copy of The Masters Review anthology, as will twenty randomly selected entrants not included on the longlist.
The Masters Review Novel Workshop: April 1 – May 2, 2024

The Masters Review Novel Workshop: April 1 – May 2, 2024

The Novel Workshop partners aspiring novelists with experienced small press editors. Writers are invited to submit the first fifty pages of their novels. In their cover letters, writers should also plan to include a brief synopsis of the novel, any challenges they may be facing, and any specific feedback they are seeking.
Anthology XIII: April 1 – June 2, 2024

Anthology XIII: April 1 – June 2, 2024

Every year The Masters Review opens submissions to produce our anthology, a collection of ten stories and essays written by the best emerging authors. Our aim is to showcase writers who we believe will continue to produce great work. The ten winners are nationally distributed in a printed book with their stories and essays exposed to top agents, editors, and authors across the country. Our third volume was awarded the Silver Medal for Best Short Story Collection through the INDIEFAB Awards in 2015, and our fourth volume was an honorable mention for best anthology.
The Reprint Prize: June 15 – June 25, 2024

The Reprint Prize: June 15 – June 25, 2024

For ten days in June, The Masters Review's first Reprint Prize was open for submissions. Any fiction or creative nonfiction under 6,000 words published prior to June 1, 2022 is eligible! As always, there are no limitations on style or topic, but our primary interest is in literary prose. This challenge will be judged by our editorial staff, who will select one winner to receive a $500 prize and publication on our site.
Summer Workshop: August 1 – August 31

Summer Workshop: August 1 – August 31

Participants receive personalized feedback on a story or essay, detailed suggestions for improvement, and resources for submitting—all from an experienced instructor. The asynchronous workshop allows writers to work with instructors remotely and strives to provide a workshop experience that can easily fit into their lives.
Summer Short Story Award for New Writers: July 1 – August 27, 2023

Summer Short Story Award for New Writers: July 1 – August 27, 2023

The Masters Review’s Short Story Award for New Writers is a bi-annual contest that recognizes the best fiction from today’s emerging writers. Winners and honorable mentions receive agency review from five agencies as well as publication. The winning story earns $3,000, while the second and third place runners up receive $300 and $200, respectively.
Novel Excerpt Contest: September 1 – November 12, 2023

Novel Excerpt Contest: September 1 – November 12, 2023

Each fall, The Masters Review hosts a call for novel excerpts! For this contest, we’re looking for self-contained excerpts up to 6,000 words that display a strong voice, compelling characters, and carefully constructed narrative arcs. As always, we have no limitations on genre, though we are primarily interested in literary fiction. The grand prize winner receives $3,000, online publication and an hour-long consultation with a literary agent.
The Masters Review Chapbook Open: September 1 – December 17, 2023

The Masters Review Chapbook Open: September 1 – December 17, 2023

The Masters Review publishes one chapbook every year. We’re interested in collections of flash fiction, creative nonfiction essays, short stories, and anything in-between. We encourage you to be bold, to experiment with style and form, as long as you stay under 45 pages. The winner receives a $3,000 cash prize, along with manuscript publication and 75 contributor copies. Our chapbooks are distributed internationally and are available through Bookshop.org, Barnes & Noble, and Amazon.
Winter Short Story Award for New Writers: December 1, 2023 – January 28, 2024

Winter Short Story Award for New Writers: December 1, 2023 – January 28, 2024

The Masters Review’s Short Story Award for New Writers is a bi-annual contest that recognizes the best fiction and creative nonfiction from today’s emerging writers. Winners and honorable mentions receive agency review from five agencies as well as publication. The winning story earns $3,000, while the second and third place runners up receive $300 and $200, respectively.
New Voices: Year Round

New Voices: Year Round

Our New Voices category is open year round to any new or emerging author who has not published a novel-length work of fiction or narrative nonfiction with a major press. Authors with published short story collections are free to submit. We accept simultaneous and multiple submissions but ask that you inform us immediately if your story is accepted elsewhere.

Want to submit? Guidelines can be found on the submissions page.

All open submission categories can be accessed here:

submit

TMR_logo

At The Masters Review, our mission is to support emerging writers. We only accept submissions from writers who can benefit from a larger platform: typically, writers without published novels or story collections or with low circulation. We publish fiction and nonfiction online year round and put out an annual anthology of the ten best emerging writers in the country, judged by an expert in the field. We publish craft essays, interviews and book reviews and hold workshops that connect emerging and established writers.



Follow Us On Social

Masters Review, 2024 © All Rights Reserved