Online Summer Workshop

New Editor! Geeta Kothari from The Kenyon Review

Registration is Open! »

Thank you, Submitters!

Short Story Award For New Writers

Winners Announce in Early September »

Now Available!

The Best Stories by Emerging Writers


Featured Fiction

Stories by Guest Writers

New From Thomas Pierce »
    New Fiction!

    New Fiction! "The Cultural Ambassador of North Beach" by Ezra Carlsen

    On its surface, this is a story about a boy who befriends a young man hired to be the doorman of his father’s bar. But beneath it, Ezra Carlsen shines light on the complexities of understanding people from different backgrounds, the horrors of war, and post-9/11 attitudes toward safety. “The Cultural Ambassador of North Beach” services its characters and themes so fully, the story feels effortless. Enjoy the latest installment in our New Voices series — you won’t soon forget it.
    Summer Destination Novels

    Summer Destination Novels

    Hoping to escape somewhere exotic, peaceful, or exciting? While away your summer days with one of these novels set in destination locations.
    August Deadlines: 9 Lit Mags and Contests With Deadlines This Month

    August Deadlines: 9 Lit Mags and Contests With Deadlines This Month

    The days are flying by faster than ever. Grab a cool drink and sit down with those pieces you’ve been meaning to brush up all summer—the deadlines are coming up quick! Includes deadlines as early as the first week of August, so don't delay.

    Author Interview – “The Pirates of Penance” by Eliza Robertson

    Author Interview – “The Pirates of Penance” by Eliza Robertson

    Our fifth anthology drops in October. In anticipation, we are rolling out a series of interviews with each of the ten stellar emerging authors whose stories Amy Hempel selected for publication. First up: Eliza Robertson, whose story “The Pirates of Penance” is set in England, Poland, and Switzerland. It delves deep into the often-veiled nature of hostility in female relationships. The narrator, after a recent split with her husband, is invited home for Christmas by a female colleague whom she…

    Keep Reading ›

    Fiction. Essays. Edits. Experts.

    Thank you to everyone who submitted to our SHORT STORY AWARD FOR NEW WRITERS, which concluded July 15 and will announce the winners in early September. AMY HEMPEL selected stories for the fifth volume of our anthology, which publishes in October. This printed work is a collection of ten stories and essays, and is distributed nationally, sent to editors and agents across the country, and includes an introduction from Amy Hempel. It is one of our favorite projects each year and serves as a major endorsement for new writers. Be sure to check out or calendar page, which highlights upcoming projects for 2016 including our Online Summer Workshop with The Paris Review and Tin House (OPEN NOW!) as well our Fall Fiction Contest hosted by Kelly Link. It's going to be a great year! Remember, our New Voices submission category is free to submit and pays for stories. It's all part of our mission to offer a quality platform for emerging writers. NEWS: The Masters Review Volume IV with stories selected by Kevin Brockmeier was an honorable mention for best anthology in the INDIEFAB Awards. Congratulations, Volume IV authors!
    Keep Reading »