Fall Fiction Contest

Fall Fiction Contest

//Currently Closed//

The winning story receives $2000 + publication, and a note from our judge on why the story was chosen. Second and third place stories earn $300 and $200, respectively, publication, and correspondence from our judge


  • Submissions are open from Oct 1 – Nov 30
  • 6000 word limit
  • Fiction only
  • Emerging Writers only. (We are interested in offering a larger platform to new writers. Self-published writers and writers with story collections and novels with a small circulation are welcome to submit. Writers with novels published with a circulation of fewer than 5000 copies can also submit.)
  • $20 submission fee
  • International submissions allowed
  • Previously unpublished work only
  • Translations allowed, providing the story has not been published in another language
  • Multiple and simultaneous submissions are allowed, but please notify us if your story is accepted elsewhere
  • Winner receives $2000 and publication
  • 2nd and 3rd place stories receive $300 and $200 respectively, in addition to publication
  • Please no identifying information on your story
  • All stories are considered for publication
  • Dazzle us
  • To view a list of our most commonly asked questions regarding submitting to The Masters Review, please see our FAQ page

2019 Winners:

Judged by Anita Felicelli.

“Salt Sea” by Zeeva Bukai

Second Place Story:
“Shenzhen” by Willa Zhang

Third Place Story:
“It Could Happen to You” by Trent England

Honorable Mention:
“Genealogy” by Nancy London

2017 Winners:

Judged by Brian Evenson.

“If I Could Have Anything, I’d Only Choose This” by Jill Rosenberg

Second Place Story:
“Lepidomancy” by Maria Lioutaia

Third Place Story:
“Together, Maureen” by Amanda Emil Anderson

Honorable Mentions:
“The Deca-Life Crisis” by Jessi Lewis
“Fog Area” by Ben Sandman

2016 Winners:

Judged by Kelly Link.

“Night Beast”
by Ruth Joffre

Second Place Story:
“Family, Family”
by Jeannine Ouellette

Third Place Story:
“Good Creatures, Small Things”
by Cate Fricke

2015 Winners:

Judged by Ann and Jeff VanderMeer.

“Linger Longer”
by Vincent Masterson

Second Place Story:
“Pool People”
by Jen Neale

Third Place Story:
by Marisela Navarro