Shortlist 2014

April 15, 2014

shortlist_2Congratulations to the authors recognized on this year’s shortlist. The work represented here is among the top 2% of all stories reviewed and each of these pieces deserves applause. At this time our guest judge, Lev Grossman, is reviewing stories and will select the top ten to be published in our anthology. This announcement will be made no later than May 15, 2014. Congratulations again to a wonderful group!

The Masters Review Shortlist, 2014

“Fisherman’s Band-Aid” – Alexander Papoulias; MFA San Jose State University

“Lynx” – Alice Otto; MFA University of Arkansas

“Bury Me” – Allegra Hyde; MFA Arizona State University

“Braids” – Amanda Pauley; MFA Hollins University

“Finders Keepers” – Andrew Cothren; MFA University of Massachusetts Amherst

“The Turk” – Andrew MacDonald; MFA University of Massachusetts Amherst

“Picketers” – Blake Kimzey; MFA University of California Irvine

“Cleaning Lessons” – Cannon Roberts; PhD Oklahoma State University

“Every Thing You Never Said” – Courtney Kersten; MFA University of Idaho

“Someone Else” – Diana Xin; MFA University of Montana

“The Behemoth” – Drew Ciccolo: MFA Rugters-Newark

“Go Down, Diller” – Eric Howerton; PhD University of Houston

“Whit Vickers, The Pitcher Who Lost His Stuff” – Ezra Carlsen; MFA University of Oregon

“Objects in Transit” – Heather Dundas; PhD University of Southern California

“We Welcome All Sorts” – Heather Lefebvre; MFA Texas State University

“Moonshot, 2003” – Jake Wolff; PhD Florida State

“Magicicada” – Jeffrey Otte; MFA Western Michigan University

“County Maps” – Joe Worthen; MFA University of North Carolina Wilmington

“Tiny Little Teeth” – Justine McNulty; MA University of Cincinnati

“dissolving newspaper, fermenting leaves” – Kiik AK; MFA University of California San Diego

“Parade” – Laura Willwerth; MFA University of Massachusetts Amherst

“Lullwater” – Lena Valencia; MFA The New School

“Strange Trajectories” – Lindsay D’Andrea; MFA Iowa State University

“Rivers” – Liz Knight; MFA Brigham Young University

“Contrition” – Mallory McMahon; MFA The New School

“Custody” – Maya Perez; MFA Michener Center for Writers

“Electronic Heads” – Meng Jin; MFA Hunter College

“Birmingham Goddam” – Scott Latta; MFA Oregon State University

“OpFor (Oppositional Force)” – Shane Collins; MFA Stonecoast University of Southern Maine

“Allure of The Sea” – Tatyana Kagamas; MA Texas Tech University

Honorable Mentions

“Space City” – John Kemmick; MFA University of Montana

“Nicodemus” – Justin Lee; MFA University of California Irvine

“Unabomber for President” – Logan Murphy; MFA; University of Tennessee, Knoxville

“The Orchard” – Matthew McKenzie Davis; PhD University of North Texas

“Goose” – Theodora Ziolkowski; MFA University of Alabama




At The Masters Review, our mission is to support emerging writers. We only accept submissions from writers who can benefit from a larger platform: typically, writers without published novels or story collections or with low circulation. We publish fiction and nonfiction online year-round and put out an annual anthology of the ten best emerging writers in the country, judged by an expert in the field. We publish craft essays, interviews and book reviews and hold workshops that connect emerging and established writers.

Follow Us On Social

Masters Review, 2024 © All Rights Reserved