The Masters Review Blog

Jun 30

2022-2023 Winter Short Story Award for New Writers: Finalists!

No more waiting: Morgan Talty has picked his winners! Congratulations to Donovan Swift, whose “Advanced Reader” was chosen as the grand prize winner, earning him a $3,000 prize, along with online publication and agency review. Please give a round of applause for our finalists, and for our shortlisted authors as well, whose stories made it to the top of a very competitive field of submissions. Thank you once again to all of our submitters! The Summer Short Story Award for New Writers opens for submissions tomorrow!


Advanced Reader by Donovan Swift

Second Place Finalist

Where They Come From by Casey Quinn

Third Place Finalist

The River at the End of the Road by Hillary Millán

Honorable Mention

The Developer by Sarah Walsh

Comments are closed.