2023-2024 Winter Short Story Award for New Writers Finalists!

July 11, 2024

The results are in! Kelly Link has chosen “The Sisters” by Angie Ellis as the grand prize winner of the 2023-2024 Winter Short Story Award for New Writers. Ellis’s story will be published on our site later this year alongside our other finalists. You won’t want to miss this terrific story. Submissions are currently open for this year’s summer contest, so be sure to get your own stories submitted before the August 25 deadline. Congratulations to Angie and all of our finalists, and thank you so much to every single one of our submitters! We couldn’t do this without you.


“The Sisters” by Angie Ellis

Second Place Finalist

“Feu Follet” by Rebecca Meredith

Third Place Finalist

“Linoleum People” by Eliza Gilbert

Honorable Mention

“The Two Things Blassie Knows” by Clayton Bradshaw-Mittal


At The Masters Review, our mission is to support emerging writers. We only accept submissions from writers who can benefit from a larger platform: typically, writers without published novels or story collections or with low circulation. We publish fiction and nonfiction online year-round and put out an annual anthology of the ten best emerging writers in the country, judged by an expert in the field. We publish craft essays, interviews and book reviews and hold workshops that connect emerging and established writers.

Follow Us On Social

Masters Review, 2024 © All Rights Reserved