Announcing Kelly Link as Guest Judge for the 2023-2024 Winter Short Story Award for New Writers!

November 20, 2023

Kelly Link returns to The Masters Review to judge our upcoming Winter Short Story Award for New Writers! This bi-annual contest celebrates the best fiction and creative nonfiction from today’s emerging writers. The winner receives a $3,000 prize along with agency review from our partnered agencies. The contest is open from December 1, 2023 through January 28, 2024. Kelly Link will select three finalists which will be published on our site and receive cash prizes. The full details can be found below or on our contest page!


About the Judge

Kelly Link is the author of White Cat, Black Dog, a national bestseller; Get in Trouble, a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction; Magic for Beginners; Stranger Things Happen; and Pretty Monsters. Her debut novel, The Book of Love, is forthcoming from Random House in February 2024. Her short stories have been published in The Best American Short Stories and Prize Stories: The O. Henry Awards. She is a MacArthur “Genius Grant” fellow and has received a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts. She is the co-founder of Small Beer Press and co-edits the occasional zine Lady Churchill’s Rosebud Wristlet. She is also the co-owner of Book Moon, an independent bookstore in Easthampton, Massachusetts.


Get a head start on your new year’s resolution by submitting to The Masters Review’s Winter Short Story Award for New Writers! This award, which has been offered twice a year since 2016, pairs emerging writers with some of the industry’s top literary agents. Past finalists include Nana Nkweti, Nick Fuller Googins, Katie M. Flynn, Reena Shah, Rachel Cochran, and Claire Boyles, several of whom earned representation from one of our partnered agents as a result of this contest.

We welcome submissions of previously unpublished fiction or creative nonfiction up to 6,000 words.  Returning to judge this year’s contest is the fantastic Kelly Link, whose debut novel, The Book of Love, is set to release in February 2024. Our contest runs from December 1, 2023, to January 28, 2024, and is open to any writer who has not published a novel or memoir with a major press. The first-place winner of this contest, selected by our guest judge, will receive a $3,000 grand prize, along with online publication. Second- and third-place winners will receive $300 and $200 respectively, along with online publication.

All finalists will receive agency review from our six partnered agencies. Participating agents include Nat Sobel from Sobel Weber, Victoria Cappello from The Bent Agency, Andrea Morrison from Writers House, Sarah Fuentes from United Talent Agency, Heather Schroder from Compass Talent, and Marin Takikawa from The Friedrich Agency.

Submission Guidelines:

  • The first-place winner receives $3,000, online publication, and agency review.
  • The second- and third-place finalists receive cash prizes ($300/$200), online publication, and agency review.
  • Submissions of fiction or nonfiction must be under 6,000 words.
  • Submitted work must be previously unpublished. This includes personal blogs, social media accounts, and other websites. Previously published work will be automatically disqualified.
  • The entry fee is $20.
  • Simultaneous and multiple submissions are allowed, though each submission requires a $20 entry fee.
  • If your submission is accepted elsewhere, please withdraw your submission on Submittable, or contact us otherwise to let us know the piece is no longer available.
  • We do not require anonymous submissions for this contest, but the guest judge will read the shortlist anonymously.
  • This contest is for emerging writers only. Writers with single-author book-length work published or under contract with a major press are ineligible. We are interested in providing a platform to new writers; authors with books published by indie presses and self-published authors are welcome to submit unpublished work.
  • International submissions are allowed, provided the work is written primarily in English. Some code-switching is warmly welcomed.
  • All submissions must be double-spaced with one-inch page margins and use Times New Roman or Garamond.
  • The contest’s deadline is 11:59pm PDT on January 28, 2024.
  • All entries are also considered for publication in New Voices.
  • Every submission will receive a response by the end of May 2024. The winners will be announced by the end of June 2024.
  • AI-generated submissions will be automatically disqualified.
  • Friends, family, and associates of the guest judge are not eligible for this award. Consider submitting to the summer contest instead!
  • A significant portion of the editorial letter fee is paid directly to your feedback editor.

We don’t have any preferences topically or in terms of style. We’re simply looking for the best. We don’t define, nor are we interested in, stories identified by their genre. We do, however, consider ourselves a publication that focuses on literary fiction. Dazzle us, take chances, and be bold.


At The Masters Review, our mission is to support emerging writers. We only accept submissions from writers who can benefit from a larger platform: typically, writers without published novels or story collections or with low circulation. We publish fiction and nonfiction online year-round and put out an annual anthology of the ten best emerging writers in the country, judged by an expert in the field. We publish craft essays, interviews and book reviews and hold workshops that connect emerging and established writers.

Follow Us On Social

Masters Review, 2024 © All Rights Reserved