2023 Summer Short Story Award for New Writers Finalists!

December 20, 2023

Just in time for the holidays, Jai Chakrabarti sent us a gift: his picks for our 2023 Summer Short Story Award for New Writers are in! Congratulations to our three finalists and two honorable mentions, especially Dara Kell, whose “Elbow in Zulu” was chosen as the grand prize winner. These five stories will be published in early spring 2024. Thank you once again to all of our submitters, and a round of applause for those shortlisted and selected as the finalists!


“Elbow in Zulu” by Dara Kell

Second Place Finalist

“Broken Animals” by Aurora Mehlman

Third Place Finalist

“Dog Days” by Catherine Carberry

Honorable Mentions

“Level of Emergency” by Tanya Nikiforova
“That Chookaloski Mare” by Ashley Thorup


At The Masters Review, our mission is to support emerging writers. We only accept submissions from writers who can benefit from a larger platform: typically, writers without published novels or story collections or with low circulation. We publish fiction and nonfiction online year-round and put out an annual anthology of the ten best emerging writers in the country, judged by an expert in the field. We publish craft essays, interviews and book reviews and hold workshops that connect emerging and established writers.

Follow Us On Social

Masters Review, 2024 © All Rights Reserved